Uncategorized

Smile H.G. Wells, Big Brother is becoming a reality.

I’m sure most of us know this going in to the social media world, but it seems that companies are using our activity now more than ever to determine if we get hired or even “remain” an employee – the statistics are growing.  Yes, it’s “Big Brother” working overtime and H. G. Wells is probably saying “I told you so..” and smiling somewhere.  It can be said, however, that if you don’t have anything to hide there’s nothing to worry about – I do agree.  But, my concern is that activities in our personal lives now come under scrutiny with someone’s idea of if we are right for a particular job. Better yet, should a current employer rely on what you do outside of work as a source of rating how desirable you are as an employee? I’ve seen the question posed a lot in the past few years, but we’re now under a microscope magnified many times over.  Well, “Big Brother” is here to stay so I’ll do my thing and let the chips fall where they may.  My ten cents.

Interesting article:  http://www.nytimes.com/2010/07/25/magazine/25privacy-t2.html?_r=1&src=twt&twt=nytimes